Market allocation for novice long term investor

Looking to set up a monthly standing order into a Vanguard Stocks & Shares ISA, am in my late twenties but for long standing mental health reasons have only gotten around to properly looking into it.

What sort of market allocation should I prioritise in my first fund(s) given that I have no prior investing experience? Some US, some UK, some ex-US, or maybe just a cheap global tracker fund?

I have some cash savings that I can transfer via lump sum too.

You can check out the UK Personal Finance subreddit where you may be able to get wider views.
You can also have a look At this Wiki

1 Like

Welcome @plaguedbyfoibles

Good to be thinking carefully about your savings strategy. Independent financial advice is out there and you’d be well advised to tread carefully and minimise risk.

You may get a variety of suggestions on this and other similar forums, but please don’t make any hard & fast decisions on any of them.

I have found monevator to be a useful website for information around investing, particularly their stuff about passive investing. They have some template portfolio suggestions for various risk appetites if you look about.

If you want something easy and don’t want to spend much time researching on how to build a portfolio yourself, their article on multi-asset funds, and since you have opened a Vanguard account their Vanguard LifeStrategy specific one might be interesting for you.

Also worth bearing in mind what @Graham has said about seeking independent financial advice, particularly if you’re talking significant sums.

1 Like

I wish I’d started in my late twenties! For long term investing, I’d probably start out with funds that track the FTSE100 or S&P500.

1 Like

There is no single answer that suits everyone. Read a book written for the layperson that includes discussion of asset allocation. You’ll become more confident in recognising what is right for you.