Why are joint accounts second class citizens?

I’m fairly new to UK fintech, and one thing I noticed across the board (Monzo, Starling, etc) is that joint accounts are treated - at best, if they even exist - as second class citizens.

For example, in Starling joint accounts don’t have Connected Card spaces. The marketplace is also empty for them. In Monzo, it’s impossible to have Monzo Plus for joint accounts, etc etc.

Why is that? Are so few people using joint accounts as their main account? I never use a personal account, which means that I need an empty Starling account with no use to just sit there.

I think we’re moving to an age where people would just use a third party thing to split bills instead of a joint account

Because it’s a small % that use them as a proper account. Most people that use a joint account just use it to dump funds to cover bills.

5 Likes

I’m really interested in why that is, at least for married couples. Legally, when divorcing the account ownership doesn’t make any difference to the divorce settlement, so the distinction between “my account” and “their account” is meaningless.

And if it’s not pre-planning for divorce, I can’t see any advantage to using separate accounts. How come that it became the default?

1 Like

I think it’s a generation thing.

My parents and that generation seemed to be much more “what’s yours is mine, what’s mine is yours” and all funds go into one account type thing.

Myself, my friends and partners, seem to do it with “This is my portion of the bills, I’ll keep the rest in my account”

I’m not sure I’d say it was for divorcing reasons. Personally, I like to know what funds are “mine”. I’ll cover bills, but if I want to spend on me, then I don’t want my partner to feel like she’s getting to spend less on herself. So you keep your own, do with it as you wish.

I think as you progress in life, maybe the ratio of what you give to the family pot vs your own changes, but that’s how I/we plan to do it anyway.