Digital Driving licenses

Look like they are reviving the push towards digital licences

3 Likes

I’m yet to read the article, but couldn’t the Mail find an older licence image?

I hope so! Passports next please!

3 Likes

Interesting reading that article. Throughout it, repeated reference to ‘older drivers’ and their difficulties with computers and phones. Funny that, but even in my local park, I’ve oft seen ‘elderly’ folk, sitting on a park bench with a mobile phone glued to their ears. Not only that, most people under the age of 70, are fully conversant with using phones and many are also able to use a computer. And of course, most young people now born in the 21st Century, will absolutely know how to use modern technology when they reach their eighties. At the ancient age of 53, I’ve just completely rebuilt my desktop and I’m not an expert. What a dumb and ageist article that is.

2 Likes

It’s taking up the vanguard for the “opt out” elderly, who have the opposite attitude to yours.

You know the kind of people (thankfully in a minority); you are explaining to them how to renew their TV license online and they go “why would I want to do that, it’s fine at the Post Office - I’m too old to change now”.

Also there is a segment of society that views virtually all technology as invented by the devil and something they’d rather do without. This can include people of all ages.

I’m not among them, obviously!

2 Likes

As Sydney Smith said, never try to reason the prejudice out of a man. It was never reasoned into him and it never can be reasoned out of him.

2 Likes

It was in the vain hope that good sense would prevail. We’ll remove those posts which do, and would continue to, cause offence (and the replies, if you don’t mind?)

If we can leave it there, that’ll be grand?

3 Likes

If the truth offends people they should simply ignore people as Discourse allows them to do